Washington state launches it's Paid Family-Medical Leave program January 1st, 2020, and there are criteria that must be met to qualify.

Unlike in the past, the 12 weeks allowed will be be partially paid. The Federal program which has been around for years, does not compensate a worker.

For Washington state here's the details:

  • To qualify, a worker must work at least 820 hours a year, or 16 hours a week.
  • These hours can come from multiple jobs added together.
  • They must experience a "qualifying" event, such as the birth, adoption or placement of a child; a worker's own serious health condition; or to care for a family member who has a serious health condition.
  • In the event of a serious medical condition for the worker or family member, it must be medically certified by a healthcare provider.

As for the compensation program, according to the Washington State Employment Security Department:

"Unlike the unpaid federal program, the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), the state Paid Family and Medical Leave program offers partial wage replacement and applies to workers in businesses of all sizes. Wage replacement is based on income and can cover up to 90 percent of a worker’s typical wage. Job protection is available if a worker is employed at a business of over 50 employees, they have worked there for at least a year and for a minimum of 1,250 hours.

Applications for leave can be filed with Employment Security starting Jan. 2, 2020, with benefits payable from January 1. Events that took place in 2019 may still be covered, including the birth or placement of a child."

To find out more about the program, and to sign up if you anticipate a qualifying event click on the button below.

102.7 KORD logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

More From 102.7 KORD