On Thursday, March 15, the Crystal Apple Awards will celebrate its 20th anniversary recognizing excellence in education. Nine outstanding educators from local public school districts will join the ranks of the prestigious Crystal Apple winners during the ceremony, taking place from 4:30-6:30 PM at the Professional Development Center at Educational Service District 123 in Pasco.

The Crystal Apple award program began in 1999 with the goal to honor just a few of the many wonderful classroom teachers across our public schools. The nine 2018 Crystal Apple winners now brings the total number of awarded teachers to 228 since the program's inception. This annual recognition of outstanding educators in our communities is only possible through generous contributions from community organizations, businesses, and service groups who sponsor the ceremony both monetarily and through gifts to the recipients. Thanks to these charitable organizations, each Crystal Apple winner is presented with a beautiful glass "crystal apple," gift certificates to local sporting events and dining, and a $1,000 check.

Superintendents from the nine represented districts (Columbia-Burbank, Finley, Kennewick, Kiona-Benton, North Franklin, Othello, Pasco, Prosser, and Richland) will present the gifts to each winner at the March 15 ceremony. At the close of the presentation, a "Special Achievement Award" will be presented as a surprise to one winner for his or her outstanding and sustained contributions to education across the region. (This person does not know of the award beforehand but will be present in the audience.)

The public is encouraged to attend the celebratory event on Thursday, March 15, beginning promptly at 4:30 PM in the ESD 123 Professional Development Center, located at 3924 W Court St in Pasco. For more information, contact Molly Curtiss at 509.544.5787 or mcurtiss@esd123.org.

The Crystal Apple Award is co-sponsored by numerous community organizations and businesses all wishing to honor the many educators who have made a positive impact on the lives of their students. This year's Platinum Level Sponsors include: Bechtel National Inc., Evergreen Associates, Gesa Credit Union, Johnson Controls, Pasco Kennewick Rotary, Stevens Clay, Tri-Cities Sunrise Rotary Club, and Washington River Protection Solutions.

The 2018 Winners List Here.

More From 102.7 KORD